Wanderer Icon Exchange

miker1264 · 17931

miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #180 on: February 07, 2023, 06:19:03 PM
Ooops! The icon picture is in the wrong place and it's the wrong icon.

Well I guess my MUI/Zune coding for user interface making needs a little work.  ;)

But that solves one major issue. I was confused why including IconImageObject caused the code to refuse to compile.

I realized though by looking at MUI classes online that IconImageObject was missing. So it must be a custom class.

After I added the <zune/iconimage.h> include file it worked, well kinda.

Also the image change for IconImageObject is not automatic so I will have to make it re-display somehow. Getting drag-n-drop to work is another issue.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2023, 06:22:11 PM by miker1264 »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #181 on: February 08, 2023, 12:53:39 AM
The real MUI/Zune user interface is complete.  8)

Now the buttons need some more code to make them work.

it seems that Zune programming is more interesting than GadTools or just a simple window.

Maybe it's more satisfying when it works because it takes much more effort to make it work correctly.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2023, 01:07:12 AM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3740
    • Karma: +69/-2
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #182 on: February 08, 2023, 12:58:04 AM
Nice !


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #183 on: February 08, 2023, 11:27:43 AM
It looks good so far but I still need to add the Browse Buttons at the end of the Edit Boxes. Not too difficult.

I will give myself 4 weeks to come up with a working Icon Exchange module for Wanderer. That's my current goal.

But I've reached my first hurdle that I need to overcome. In order for it to work properly I need to re-display the Dest Icon Image on the bottom after the exchange.

But the IconImageObject is a custom class that only goes One Way. We supply a filename then open the window & the image is drawn. I don't see any way to force a redraw unless I use an Image object. So I have some more research to do.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2023, 12:56:22 PM by miker1264 »



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #184 on: February 10, 2023, 02:49:09 PM
AMIGASYSTEM

What is the rename error that you reported earlier?

It has gotten lost in all the messages.  :-*



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3740
    • Karma: +69/-2
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #185 on: February 10, 2023, 03:05:56 PM
On Wanderer you cannot Rename a File from Lower Case to Upper Case and vice versa, you cannot even rename a single letter from Lower Case to Upper Case.

No problem from Dopus4, where you can rename !


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #186 on: February 10, 2023, 05:06:30 PM
On Wanderer you cannot Rename a File from Lower Case to Upper Case and vice versa, you cannot even rename a single letter from Lower Case to Upper Case.

No problem from Dopus4, where you can rename !

Since I'm already working with the Wanderer source code I can take a look to identify the problem.

The Rename module in Wanderer/Tools is very basic. The end result is that after the user enters the new name it calls Rename(old name, new name); So the actual DOS Library Rename function may have an issue. Not sure yet but I will look. Does it still happen with deadwood's newest Wanderer? Maybe that has been fixed already.

What happens if you try to rename in the shell to all uppercase or all lowercase? Just curious if it's a Wanderer problem or much deeper than that.

« Last Edit: February 10, 2023, 05:23:15 PM by miker1264 »



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3740
    • Karma: +69/-2
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #187 on: February 10, 2023, 05:16:28 PM
Since you are working on Wanderer's code, it would be useful to assign a function key to -> Menu - Icon - Delete, for example the "Delete" key would be fine.

This would be very convenient when you want to delete one or more icons, this is a function that exists on all OSes.

Also it would be nice to have a Comado Refresch from Wanderer as well, we have already talked about this.


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #188 on: February 10, 2023, 05:25:17 PM
Since you are working on Wanderer's code, it would be useful to assign a function key to -> Menu - Icon - Delete, for example the "Delete" key would be fine.

This would be very convenient when you want to delete one or more icons, this is a function that exists on all OSes.

Also it would be nice to have a Comado Refresch from Wanderer as well, we have already talked about this.

The first one sounds reasonable with the shortcut key for delete. But what is Comado Refresch ? Is that Italian? ;-)



AMIGASYSTEM

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3740
    • Karma: +69/-2
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #189 on: February 10, 2023, 05:32:43 PM
I made a mistake I meant to write "refresh," in Italian it translates to "rinfrescare", though it would be more correct to say Update, translated Italian "Aggiornare"


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #190 on: February 10, 2023, 05:59:06 PM
Maybe you mean a  Window "Refresh..." To redraw the icons in the window. Isn't that what Window->View->Cleanup does? I will look into that.

BTW I narrowed down the rename problem.

On IcarosDesktop 64bit I was able to rename a file & it's icon from mixed case to all uppercase to all lowercase in the shell. The Rename command had no issues and it was perfectly case sensitive.

However in Wanderer I selected an icon then Rename from the menu. When I tried to rename to all uppercase for example there was an error. "File already exists.". The problem is that the WBRename module isn't case sensitive so "HDToolBox" = "hdtoolbox" = "HDTOOLBOX". These are all the same to Wanderer.

So the Rename module may need to be updated.




AMIGASYSTEM

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3740
    • Karma: +69/-2
  • AROS One
    • AROS One
Reply #191 on: February 11, 2023, 03:43:30 AM

On IcarosDesktop 64bit I was able to rename a file & it's icon from mixed case to all uppercase to all lowercase in the shell. The Rename command had no issues and it was perfectly case sensitive.

Yes it is normal that IcarOS with Dopus Magellan has no problem, also Dopus4 has no problem renaming, because these Filemanagers use "Rename" "Internal" command, also AROS Shell works great and you can rename in all ways :D

Quote
So the Rename module may need to be updated.

It would also suffice if he used the Rename command


miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #192 on: February 14, 2023, 10:00:51 AM
Wanderer Icon Exchange development is coming along slowly.

Thanks to assistance from deadwood it may be possible to get the icon images to display and re-display correctly.

As for the icon image exchange code, it's already working.

This is my first MUI/Zune application so the assistance is greatly appreciated.



miker1264

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 1827
    • Karma: +84/-6
Reply #193 on: February 24, 2023, 08:43:30 AM
This is the StrDup correction for MUI/Zune window titles. Thanks to Mazze for finding this.  8)

/* the window class doesn't copy the title so we must
     create a copy by ourselves to avoid corrupt window title */
                   
     tmpfilename = StrDup(filename);
     set ( globalActiveWindow->win, MUIA_Window_Title, tmpfilename );
     set ( globalActiveWindow->projName, MUIA_String_Contents, tmpfilename );